Summoning

My latest artwork Summoning.

 

deviantArt and sxc.hu for all the stock photos.

I have been having a hard time trying to categorize my art style. I dislike calling myself an artist, because I see too many artists with too little discipline, skill or talent (or a combination thereof, and that has really tainted the word for me. Graphic designer on the other hand sounds too technical.

The closest I have come is professional collager. I take pieces out of different photos and create whatever I want. I have replaced glue and newspaper clippings with Photoshop and deviantArt, but the principle is similar.

I wonder why the girl in the picture is playing music near a dragon’s den? I am not even sure if she realizes it is listening.

If anyone can give me a suggestion as to what is missing from the picture (the midground seems a little barren), that would be most appreciated

 

Edit: Added dragonflies in the midground. It still feels barren, but I am glad I have something in that space now.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Summoning

  1. I can’t believe this is made using pieces of other pictures. It looks gorgeous.

    • Aww thanks šŸ™‚ Yep there are a lot of pieces in there. The background is made of 4 different pictures – the dragon is at 5 or 6 and there are a great many layers on top of that for shading and colors. But it all comes together in the end šŸ™‚

    • Thanks Amy. I appreciate the compliment. It takes a lot of little details to make the picture work as one shot.

Leave a Reply

