The King and I

While I am on my extended weekend (as I like to call it), I spend most of it at home, puttering. With the Christmas season upon us, my focus is knitting – scarves, hats and mitts for a few of my friends. I am still fairly new to it, so I only pop out 3 or 4 projects a year, but I do enjoy it quite a bit. When I knit, I usually toss on a movie. Nothing like an evening with tea, yarn and a good flick.

 

Tonight’s selection was “The King and I”. A classic Rodgers and Hammerstein musical is set in the Far East, when relations between East and West were just developing, and two cultures with vastly different technologies and societies were beginning to meld. Deborah Kerr is Anna, an English widow who has traveled to Siam to work as a governess for the children of the royal family. There she meets Mongkut, the King of Siam. Played by Yul Brynner, he is a man who wants to join the 19th century in it’s forward ways. The two develop a relationship based on mutual respect, and they both learn a bit about themselves in the process. Yul Brynner has a masterful presence without losing the subtleties of acting. He comes across as a clever man, with a boyish charm at times, offset by his powerful masculinity. Deborah Kerr is a strongly beautiful woman, with unbelievable poise.The story is well-paced with wonderful sets and amazing choreography.

 

Something has been lost in the last while in filmmaking. I do not know when or how it happened, but the more movies I watch, the more I am drawn back to the old films. There is a charm and a glamor to them that has been lost. The characters have life and color, even without the sophistication of modern computer effects. I also love technicolor. It makes each scene a painting come to life, with all the vibrancy of life and more. I could live in a technicolor world.

 

Until next time,

 

Z.

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The King and I

  1. Hatter

    I Confess I have never watched that movie. I’d like to though.

  2. Movie Night!!! I has it on my laptop!

Leave a Reply

